Where Can I Get a Motorcycle License Near Me?

Whether it’s a resolution for the new year, or just something you’ve finally decided you’re ready for, the time has come to buy your first motorcycle and get a license! If you’re researching information on how to get a motorcycle license, here is a guide that can serve as your ultimate resource.

Just use the dropdown to find the motorcyle license requirements in your state!

Trade a car for a  motorcycle and hit the road!

If you are looking to trade a car for motorcycle online, or if you want to buy a motorcycle before you hit the books, RumbleOn is where it's at! Trade a motorcycle online by starting with a free cash offer for your bike, or browse our inventory of great bikes for beginners. RumbleOn motorcycles and powersports for sale are shipped for FREE to your door, as-promised or your money back, and with a 90-Day Rideability Guarantee! Read more about online motorcycle trades here.

   


For legal reasons, the DMV considers a "motorcycle" a motorized vehicle with an engine size larger than 150cc, and no more than three wheels.  motorcycle that meets these specifications must be registered, and the driver must have a (M1) motorcycle license. 

These laws and requirements are not the same as M2 endorsements (for motorized bicycles that are 50cc or less, and cycles that are 250 cc or less). M1 license holders may operate any motorized bicycle, moped, or motor scooter without an M2 endorsement. 

 As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office or motor vehicle division if you have any questions.

Scroll on through, or select a state in the dropdown to jump to that area!

 

 

 

Alabama

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Alabama

- Minimum age for a motorcycle license in Alabama: 16 years old.
- In order to legally operate a motorcycle, first you must either pass a motorcycle safety course or DPS motorcycle knowledge exam, and then apply for a motorcycle endorsement (M) with the DPS.
 

The DPS Knowledge Test

If you would like to take the DPS knowledge test, here’s what you need to do:
- Study the Alabama Motorcycle Operator Manual. You can pick one up at any DPS station, State Trooper Office, or Probate Judge or License Commissioner Office.
- It’s recommended that you take at least one practice test before taking Alabama's motorcycle knowledge exam.
To take the exam, make a test appointment with your local Alabama DPS office.
 
The Motorcycle Safety Foundation Course
If you would rather take a motorcycle safety course, visit the Motorcycle Safety Foundation website for information.
 

Apply for Your Motorcycle Endorsement

When you're ready to apply for your motorcycle (M) endorsement, bring the following documents to your local DPS office:

- Birth certificate.
- Social Security card.
- A third form of acceptable secondary identification.

At the DPS office, be prepared to:

- Take the written knowledge exam or present proof that you've completed a motorcycle safety course. 
- Pay the $5 testing fee (if applicable) and $36.25 licensing fee (checks are not accepted).
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

Alaska

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Alaska

- Minimum age for motorcycle license in Alaska: 16 years old.
- In order to legally operate a motorcycle, you must hold a motorcycle instruction permit for 6 months, and complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundation education course, or pass the on-road motorcycle skills test.
-If you're under 18 years old, you'll need written permission from a parent or legal guardian to apply for a motorcycle permit and/or license.
 

Motorcycle Instruction Permit

To get a motorcycle license in Alaska, you must first earn your motorcycle instruction permit. To do so, go to your local Alaska DMV office and:
- If you already have a standard driver’s license, you just have to take the motorcycle license exam. If you don’t already hold a standard driver’s license, you must pass the written knowledge exam for a standard driver’s license as well as a motorcycle license exam. 
- Take a vision screening. 
- Submit a completed application for an Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification Card.
- Provide proof of your date of birth, legal name, Alaska residence, and Social Security Number. If you don’t have these documents, then check out this list of acceptable documents
- Pay the $15 motorcycle permit fee.
 
That’s all it takes to earn your Alaska motorcycle instruction permit. This permit will be valid for 2 years and may be renewed once. The instruction permit allows you to legally practice riding your motorcycle as long as you're accompanied by a licensed adult who's at least 21 years old and can see you at all times.
 

Motorcycle Skills Test

After you hold your instruction permit for six months, you are allowed to take your road skills exam to get a full Alaska motorcycle license. You can schedule online for your road test with the Alaska DMV, here. The testing times are restricted to dry weather, and the test may not be taken in the winter.

When you take the test, bring a motorcycle with proper insurance and registration documents, and payment for the $15 testing fee. (If you have taken a motorcycle safety education course prior to your exam, your testing fee will be waived.)
 

Apply for a Motorcycle License

 After you have taken your skills test, it’s time to apply for your Alaska motorcycle license. Visit your area DMV office in Alaska and bring the following:
- Either a completion certificate for a motorcycle education course, or written proof you passed the on-road skills test. 
- Provide proof of your birth date, full legal name, Alaska residence, and Social Security Number. If you don’t have these documents, then check out this list of acceptable documents in Alaska.
- Pay the $20 motorcycle license fee.
 
After this, you will be issued your motorcycle license in Alaska! This license will be valid for five years, and will expire on your birthday. If you want some study guides for a motorcycle license in Alaska check out the Alaska driver's handbook and motorcycle manual.
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

Arizona

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Arizona

- Minimum age for motorcycle license in Arizona: 16 years old.
- If you are over 18 years old, in order to legally operate a motorcycle, pass a knowledge test, an on-cycle skills test, a vision exam, and pay your licensing fee.
- If you are under 18 years old, you have additional requirements including getting your motorcycle instruction permit.
 

Get Your Arizona Motorcycle Instruction Permit

If you are under age 18 years old, you are required to obtain an instruction permit before getting your (Class M) motorcycle license. To apply, you must be 15 years old and 6 months, and go to your local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office to:

- Pass a vision screening.
- Pass a written test consisting of questions from the Motorcycle Operator Manual.
- If you do not have a current Class D driver's license or instruction permit, you will also need to take a written driver licensing exam.
- Pay the $7 permit fee.
 

You will then receive a motorcycle permit that is valid for 7 months, and may be renewed one time within two years. During this time, you will need to complete either an MVD-approved motorcycle training course, or at least 30 hours of riding practice in order to receive your full Class M motorcycle license.

 

Apply for an Endorsement or Motorcycle License in Arizona

If you are over 18 years old and want to apply for your motorcycle license or endorsement (which means it is added to an existing vehicle driver’s license), you will need to hold an instruction permit for at least six months and:

- Complete any MVD-approved motorcycle driver education program.
- Pass a knowledge test.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass an on-cycle skills test.

> In this exam, you'll need to demonstrate basic control skills, safety measures, and a thorough understanding of your vehicle's operating maneuvers. You can prepare by reading through the Arizona Motorcycle Operator Manual, but be sure to also bring the following:

- DOT-approved motorcycle helmet in good condition.
- Gloves that permit freedom to operate controls.
- Proper clothing, including long pants and protective jacket.
- Protective footwear that cover your ankles.
- Proper eye protection.
-Pay your licensing fee, which is based on age and type:
- 16 to 39 years old―$25
- 40 to 44 years old―$20
- 45 to 49 years old―$15
- 50 years old and over―$10
- Motorcycle Endorsement―$7
- Instruction Permit―$7
 

After you have passed both exams, you will be issued your motorcycle endorsement on an existing license or motorcycle license in Arizona. This will be valid until you turn 65 years old, and you will need to retake your vision exam every 12 years.

As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.

 

 Back to Top

 

 

Arkansas

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Arkansas

- Minimum age for motorcycle license in Arkansas: 16 years old.
- In order to legally operate a motorcycle, you must hold an instruction permit, pass the required exams, and provide documentation at your area OMV location.
 

Get Your Motorcycle Permit in Arkansas

To get your motorcycle instruction permit, you need to:
- Provide proof of your identity with these acceptable documents.
- Pass the written knowledge exams and vision test at your local ASP troop testing location.
- Pay the required motorcycle license fee.
 
Your motorcycle instruction permit will be valid for one year and cannot be renewed. If you want to study for the written tests, check out the Arkansas motorcycle manual.

 

Get Your Motorcycle License in Arkansas

Once you have your instruction permit, you are able to practice for your road test that is administered by the Arkansas State Police. All applicants for both Class M and Class MD licenses must pass this exam which will test:
- Your communication with other drivers.
- Turns and stops.
- Ability to choose the safest routes.
 
If you would like a general idea of what to expect in this exam, check out the Arkansas motorcycle manual.
 

Apply for an Arkansas Motorcycle License

Visit your local State Police troop testing station to apply for a motorcycle license. If you have successfully completed a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Rider Course, you can waive the road skills exam fee.
 
Once you present documentation that you’ve completed the road skills exam or a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Rider Course, you will be given a certificate of completion. Then, take the following documents to your local Arkansas Revenue Office:
- Certificate of your road test or MSF safety course completion.
- Payment for the required licensing fees. For the most recent and accurate information about these fees, contact the DFA’s Office of Driver Services at (501) 371-5581.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 
 

California

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in California

To legally obtain a motorcycle license in California, you must first get a motorcycle learner’s permit, complete your rider training course, or schedule a driver’s test. If you are under the age of 21, you must also complete a motorcycle safety course.
 

Apply for a Motorcycle Learner’s Permit and License in California

Contact your area California DMV office to schedule when you can apply for your license and take the licensing exam. Here is what you should expect to bring/complete at the DMV:
- Form DL 44.
DL 44 Form requires an original signature and cannot be completed online. Before your appointment, call (800) 777-0133 to request DMV Form DL 44 or pick up a copy at the DMV when you arrive for your appointment.
- Pass a vision test.
- Give a thumbprint.
- Present birth certificate as proof of identity or legal presence.
- Pass the written traffic laws and signs test for the standard license you now have, unless you took it within the last year.
- Provide proof you completed a motorcycle safety course if under age 21.
- Pass the motorcycle laws test. You can study for this test with the California Motorcycle Handbook before your appointment. This handbook contains all rules and laws that apply to motorcycles and will be covered on your exam.
- Pay the $33 fee.
 
Your $33 learner's permit application fee will be good for 12 months. You may take the written and skills tests three times. If your application expires before you pass the tests and are issued a license, you must restart the application process.
 
After you pass your tests and pay your fee, you will be given a 90-day interim license until your official license arrives in the mail.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

Colorado

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Colorado

Motorcycle riders are required to have a standard driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement. To get an endorsement, you must have a valid driver’s license and either pass a written exam, buy an instruction permit, and schedule and pass an on-road skills test, OR complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Colorado

A motorcycle permit is required for all applicants under 18 years old, but it is still recommended for riders over the age of 18. To get a permit:
- Go to your local Colorado DMV office
- Submit proof of your identity, age, and residency.
- Pass the written motorcycle test.
- Pay the $16.80 fee.
 

Get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Colorado

You must be over 16 years old to get a motorcycle endorsement in Colorado. If you are under the age of 18, you must have held a learner’s permit for one year before getting your endorsement. If you are over 18:
- Go to your area Colorado DMV office
- Pass the written exam. You can study for it with the Motorcycle Operator Handbook. If you do not already have a standard driver’s license, you will need to pass a basic written test for drivers and prove your identity.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass an on-cycle driving test. You may do this beforehand with a certified third-party tester and bring proof of completion, or you can schedule an appointment and complete this test at the DMV.
- Pay the $27 fee for a new standard license and an extra $2 for the M endorsement.
 
If you completed a Motorcycle Operator Safety Training (MOST) program, then you do not have to take the written and driving exams at the DMV. Just bring your MSF certification card and cover the cost of the license fees.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

Connecticut

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Connecticut

To legally get a motorcycle endorsement in Connecticut, applicants over the age of 16 must complete a (novice) motorcycle training course, vision, and knowledge exams. Or you may obtain a motorcycle permit and take an MSF training course to receive an endorsement for no additional cost.
 

Apply for a Motorcycle Permit

Bring the following items to your Connecticut DMV office :
- Proof of valid Connecticut driver’s license.
- If under the age of 18, you must bring a notarized certificate of parental consent.
- Complete the knowledge and vision tests. To study for these exams, check out the Connecticut Motorcycle Manual.
- Pay the exams’ $40 fee.
- Note: If you fail the knowledge exam, you are able to retake it the following business day, but will have to pay another $40 exam fee. 
- Pay the $16 permit fee.
- Note: you can only pay the permit fee if you pass both tests. 
This Connecticut motorcycle permit will be good for 60 days and comes with rider restrictions.
 

Apply for a Motorcycle License with a Motorcycle Permit

- Go to your area DMV office.
- Bring your valid motorcycle permit.
- Bring a valid Connecticut driver’s license.
- Proof of completing an approved Motorcycle Safety Training course.
You may then receive the motorcycle endorsement on your driver’s license at no extra cost and no driving exam.


Apply without a Motorcycle Permit

- Go to your area DMV.
- Bring your valid Connecticut driver’s license.
- If under the age of 18, you must bring a notarized certificate of parental consent.
- Complete the knowledge and vision tests. To study for these exams, check out the Connecticut Motorcycle Manual.
- Pay the exams’ $40 fee.
- Note: If you fail the knowledge exam, you are able to retake it the following business day, but will have to pay another $40 exam fee. 
- Pay the $16 permit fee.
Note: you can only pay the permit fee if you pass both tests. 
After you pass the exams, you must complete a motorcycle training course and bring proof to your DMV office. After this, they will put a motorcycle endorsement on your license for a $30 fee.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

Delaware

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Delaware

Minimum age for a motorcycle license: 17 years old.
To get a motorcycle license in Delaware, you need to apply for a motorcycle endorsement on a current driver’s license. First, get a learner’s permit by passing the written knowledge, road sign, and vision test, or take a motorcycle education course.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Delaware

If you are over 18 years old, you can get a motorcycle permit in Delaware by going to your local DMV office and:
- Pass a written knowledge, road sign, and vision test.
- Provide identification with approved documents.
You will be given your motorcycle permit and may practice riding a motorcycle as long as you adhere to the state’s restrictions on operation times, passengers, protective gear, and highway travel.
 

Get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Delaware

Those under 18 will have different requirements, found here. However, If you are over 18 years old, then to apply to a motorcycle endorsement, go to your area DMV office and:
- Show your motorcycle permit that you’ve held for at least 10 days.
- Pass an on-road skills test or present the certificate of completion for a Delaware motorcycle rider education course.
- Submit the required identification documents.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Florida

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Florida

Minimum age for motorcycle license in Florida: 16 years old.
There are different requirements whether you want to get a motorcycle endorsement in Florida or a motorcycle only license. Both require passing motorcycle education exams and payment of fees.
 

Get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Florida

If you have a Class E Florida driver’s license, you must complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic Rider Course. This course will teach you:
- How to communicate with drivers on the road.
- Turn safely.
- Deal with emergencies.
 
Once you take the MSF Basic Rider Course, go to your local DHSMV driver licensing office or tax collector location and bring:
- Certificate of completion of your MSF Basic Rider Course. You must apply for your endorsement within one year of completing the Course.
- Payment for licensing and endorsement fees.
After this, you will be granted your motorcycle endorsement in Florida.
 

Get a “Motorcycle Only” License in Florida

If you are over 18 years old and hold a Class E license or learner’s permit, go to your local driver license office or tax collector office:
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass a written knowledge exam, which you can study for with the Florida motorcycle manual.
 
After this, it’s required that you take a Basic Rider Course. Once you have your certificate of completion, visit your driver license office or tax collector office to provide:
- Course certificate of completion.
 
After this, you will be issued your motorcycle only license that should be renewed and updated as a standard state driver’s license.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 

Georgia

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Georgia

Minimum age for a motorcycle license in Georgia: 17 years old.
Basically, if you are over 16 years old in Georgia, you can get a learner’s permit and practice before taking a road test, or you can enroll in an MSF Basic Riders Course before applying for a Class M Motorcycle license with the DDS.
 

Get a (Class MP) Motorcycle Learner’s Permit in Georgia

You must be 16 years old to get a learner’s permit. To apply for a Georgia Motorcycle Permit make an appointment at your local DDS office and:
- Bring proof of your identity, birthday, address, and U.S. citizenship or lawful presence, as well as your social security card.
- Submit a license application.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass a motorcycle knowledge test.
- Pay the $10 permit fee.
 
If you are 16 years old, you must also:
- You must bring a high school diploma or GED, or a certificate of attendance (Form DS-1) from within the last 30 days.
- Submit a license application that is signed by your parent or guardian.
 
This permit is valid for six months, and provides you the ability to practice riding a motorcycle with certain restrictions on riding times, passengers, safety equipment, and roadways.
 

Get a (Class M) Motorcycle License in Georgia

If you already have a learner’s permit, you may schedule an appointment with the DDS.
 
Otherwise, if you do not have a permit and you are at least 17 years old, to apply for a Class M Georgia motorcycle license, go to your local DDS Customer Service Center and:
- If you have your Class MP learner’s permit, bring it.
- Submit a license application. If you are under 18, your parent or guardian must sign it.
- Your certificate of completion from a Basic Riders Course, if applicable.
- If you have taken and completed a Basic Riders Course, you will earn a waiver for both written exams that is good for 90 days.
- If applicable, bring proof of insurance and registration of the motorcycle will be testing on.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a written knowledge exam and road skills test (will be waived if you take a Basic Riders Course).
- Pay the $32 fee for an 8-year license.
 
To take a Basic Riders Course, you may enroll through the DDS online registration portal.
 
If you are under 18 years old, you must meet these requirements as well as:
- You must bring a high school diploma or GED, or a certificate of attendance (Form DS-1) from within the last 30 days.
- Submit a license application that is signed by your parent or guardian.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Hawaii

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Hawaii

To get a motorcycle license in Hawaii, you must complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundation rider course (this is mandatory for riders 16 to 18 years of age), earn a motorcycle instruction permit, pass a road skills exam if you opt out of the MSF course, and pay a fee.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Hawaii

In order to get a motorcycle license in Hawaii, you must hold an instruction permit. To get a permit, you must go to your local driver’s license office and:
- Provide proof of your full name, date of birth, citizenship, and social security. To see a list of acceptable HIDOT documents, click here.
- Pass the written knowledge exams for both a standard driver’s license and a motorcycle license.
- Pay the required motorcycle permit fee (varies per county):
- Hawaii: $1
- Maui: $5
- Honolulu: $2
- Kauai: $2
Once you have your permit, you’ll be able to practice riding a motorcycle. If your permit expires before you get your license, you must wait 90 days before applying for another.
If you are between the ages of 16 and 18 years old, you must hold your permit for 90 days before you can apply for your official license and enroll in a MSF course.
 

Get a motorcycle license in Hawaii

Go to your area driver’s license office and provide proof of your full name, date of birth, citizenship, and social security. To see a list of acceptable HIDOT documents, click here.
Then you may either:
  1. Provide a certificate of completion for an approved Motorcycle Safety Foundation education course.
  2. Provide written proof of passing a motorcycle road skills test.
After paying the required motorcycle license fee, you will be issued your motorcycle license. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Idaho

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Idaho

You must already have a standard Idaho driver’s license, this can be either Class A, B, C, or D. You must first get a motorcycle permit in Idaho, and if you are under the age of 21 you must complete an Idaho Skills Training Advantage for Riders Motorcycle Education Course (if you are over the age of 21, completing this course will waive the road skills exam with the DMV), and complete a road skills exam (if you opt out of the STAR Motorcycle Education Course).
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Idaho

If you already hold a standard driver’s license in Idaho, then you will still need to get a motorcycle permit. To do this, go to your area DMV Licensing Office and:
- Provide proof of your age, identity, U.S. citizenship, social security number, and residency. For a list of acceptable identification documents, click here.
- Pass a written motorcycle knowledge exam based on the Idaho Motorcycle Operator’s Manual.
- Pay the $3 fee for the written exam and the $15 fee for the permit.
After this, you will be issued your motorcycle permit. It comes with certain restrictions on passengers, riding times, and freeways.
 

Get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Idaho

Once you have your motorcycle permit, you have two options. Either:
  1. Complete and pass a STAR motorcycle safety education course (this course is required for all applicants under the age of 21)
  2. Practice riding with your motorcycle permit and pay $10 to pass a DMV road skills test. Find your testing location and schedule in
 
After you have completed your motorcycle safety course or passed your DMV road skills test, go to your area DMV office and bring:
- Proof of your age, identity, U.S. citizenship, social security number, and residency. For a list of acceptable identification documents, click here.  
- Your STAR motorcycle safety course completion certificate or your written proof of passing the DMV road exam.
- Pay the $15 endorsement fee.
After this, you will be issued a motorcycle endorsement on your standard driver’s license. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Illinois

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Illinois

The minimum age to get a motorcycle (Class M) instruction permit is 18 years old. If you are under 18, you must complete a 24-month instruction permit class and a motorcycle training course. Completion of a motorcycle education course or a written and driving exam is required before you may get a motorcycle license in Illinois.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Illinois

If you are over 18 years old and want to get a motorcycle permit in Illinois, then go to your local Illinois Secretary of State (SOS) Driver Services Office and:
- Present your standard Illinois driver’s license.
- If you do not have a driver’s license, you must provide proof of your identity and residency.
- Submit a permit application.
- Complete any required test which may be a written basic, vision, and/or written motorcycle exam.
 
If you are under 18 years old and want to get a motorcycle permit in Illinois, you are required to have completed a driver’s education course and be enrolled in a 24-month instruction permit class. After these requirements are met, then go to your local Illinois Secretary of State (SOS) Driver Services Office and:
- Provide proof of your identity and residency.
- Submit an application for a permit.
- Proof of enrollment in a motorcycle training course approved by IDOT.
- Pay the permit fee.
A motorcycle permit will last 12 months, and comes with certain restrictions on riding hours and supervision.
 

Get a Motorcycle License in Illinois

To get your motorcycle license (Class M) in Illinois, go to an SOS Driver Services office and:
- Provide proof of your identity. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
- If applicable, present your certificate of completion for an IDOT Motorcycle Rider Education course. If you complete this course, you are exempt from taking the written and driving exams.
- If you have not taken an IDOT Motorcycle Rider Education course, then you must pass the written and driving exams.
- If you don’t have a standard driver’s license in Illinois, then you are required to also pass a basic written and driver’s test for standard vehicles.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pay the $10 motorcycle license fee.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Indiana

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Indiana

You must be 18 years old or have a parent or guardian provide written permission for you to get a motorcycle permit or license in Indiana. You must get a motorcycle permit before you get a motorcycle license in Indiana, unless you complete a Motorcycle Operator Safety Education course.
 

How to Get a Motorcycle Permit in Indiana

Go to your area BMV licensing office and:
- Provide a valid base or standard driver’s license.
- Provide proof of identity, social security number, U.S. citizenship, two documents that prove your Indiana residency. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
- If you are under 18, you must provide an application signed by your parent or guardian.
- Pass a vision and written knowledge exam.
- Payment for the $9 permit fee.
 
After this, you will be provided a motorcycle learner’s permit. It is good for one year as long as you adhere to the restrictions on safety gear, riding hours, and passengers. If you do not get your motorcycle endorsement before the expiration of your permit, then you must way one year to apply for another permit.
 

How to Get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Indiana

You must either have a valid motorcycle permit and pass a skills exam or provide a certificate of completion from a motorcycle safety course that is approved by the state (Ride Safe Indiana). If you are under 18 years old, you must also submit an application for endorsement that has been signed by your parent or guardian.
 
If you have a motorcycle permit and want to get a motorcycle endorsement, you must first past a skills test. Contact Ride Safe Indiana to schedule an appointment and:
- Bring your permit.
- Insurance and registration proof of the motorcycle you will be testing on.
- Payment for the testing fee.
If you do not pass the test after three tries, you will need to wait two months from your last testing date to retake it.
 
After you pass your skills test, or if you took a motorcycle safety course, then contact Ride Safe Indiana to schedule an appointment and:
- Provide proof of identity, social security number, U.S. citizenship, two documents that prove your Indiana residency. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Provide either your learner’s permit and proof you passed your on-cycle exam OR proof you completed an RSI motorcycle safety course.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pay the endorsement fee.
- Riders under 75 years old: $19 for a 6-year endorsement.
- Riders between 75 and 84 years old: $11 for a 3-year endorsement.
 
After this, you will receive a new standard license with a motorcycle endorsement on it. Your endorsement will expire when your license expires. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Iowa

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Iowa

- The minimum age for a motorcycle permit is 14 years old; the minimum age for a motorcycle license and endorsement is 16 years old.
- You must earn a motorcycle permit, complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundation education course (required for riders under 18, but will waive the motorcycle road skills test if you take it), and MVD road skill test.
 

How to Get a Motorcycle Permit in Iowa

Before you may get an endorsement or motorcycle license in Iowa, you have to get a motorcycle instruction permit. To get one, just find your closest MVD licensing office and:
- Provide proof of your Iowa residency, date of birth, U.S. citizenship, legal name, and social security number. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Pass the vision and written tests.
- Pay the motorcycle permit fee.
- Instruction permit—Varies based on license type:
- Motorcycle endorsement permit: $2 per each year your existing license is valid.
- Motorcycle only license permit: $14 flat fee.
 
After that, you will receive your motorcycle permit which is good for four years. Note that your permit can’t be renewed and comes with certain restrictions on accompaniment.
 

How to Get a Motorcycle License in Iowa

If you haven’t completed a motorcycle safety course, then contact your closest MVD office to schedule an MVD motorcycle road skills test. After you complete the MVD skill test (if applicable) go to the license office with the following:
- Provide proof of your Iowa residency, date of birth, U.S. citizenship, legal name, and social security number. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Proof you completed a motorcycle safety course or MVD motorcycle road skill test.
- Pay the licensing fees.
- Motorcycle endorsement: $2 per each year that your standard license is valid.
- Motorcycle Only (Class M) license: $6 each year your standard license is valid.
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Kansas

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Kansas

Minimum age to get a motorcycle permit in Kansas: 14 years old.
Minimum age to get a Less Restricted motorcycle license in Kansas: 16 years old.
There are two versions of motorcycle licenses for minors, restricted and less restricted class M. To get a motorcycle endorsement on a current driver’s license, you must apply and pass knowledge/ skill exams at your area DMV, or complete a Motorcycle Driver’s education course.
 

How to Get a Motorcycle Permit in Kansas

Your motorcycle permit will be good for one year, and allows you do ride a motorcycle at any time as long as you have a licensed adult motorcycle operator riding within your proximity. To get your instruction permit, you must be at least 14 years old. If you are under 16, your parent or guardian must sign the application for your permit. To get a Class M permit:
- Pass a vision test and written knowledge exam.
- Provide proof of your identity, age, and Kansas residency. For a full list of acceptable documentation, click here.
- Pay the $2 fee for the permit and an additional $8 fee for a photo. (Sometimes there are additional fees, it’s best to ask before you go to the Treasurer’s office.)
 

Get a Less Restricted License for Minor Drivers

If you are 16 or younger, then you will have to first get a “less restricted” Class M license until you are old enough to have a non-restricted license (the age of 17).
To get a less restricted license in Kansas, you must be 16 (not yet 17) years old and:
- Have had an instruction permit for at least one year.
- Have completed at least 50 hours of driving, ten of those hours at night, under licensed adult supervision.
- Present a certificate of completion from an approved motorcycle education course (if applicable).
- Pass both a written and driving skills test (if you completed a motorcycle education course, you are exempt from taking these tests).
 
Once you get your restricted license, you must carry it for at least six months and submit an affidavit proving that you have completed all 50 hours of supervised driving before you may get a non-restricted license. There are certain requirements that come along with a Less Restricted license, including:
- You may only drive to and from authorized school activities.
- Driving between 5am - 9pm. You must be accompanied by a licensed adult outside of these hours.
- No passengers are allowed under 18 years old.
- No phones are allowed to be used, unless for emergency help.
 

Get a (Class M) Motorcycle Endorsement in Kansas

To get a Class M Endorsement in Kansas, you must be at least 17 years old and have a valid standard driver’s license in Kansas. Then, schedule an appointment with an area Kansas Driver’s license exam station and:
- Provide proof of your identity and residence in Kansas. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Pass a written knowledge exam that covers material in the Kansas Motorcycle Manual.
- Pass a vision test.
- Present a certificate of completion from an approved motorcycle education course (if applicable).
- Pass a driving skills test (if you completed a motorcycle education course, you are exempt from taking these tests).
- Pay the motorcycle license fee:
- License for drivers under 21 years old: $20.
- License valid for 4 years (drivers 65 years old or older): $9.
- License valid for 6-year (drivers 21 to under 65 years old): $12.
If you are under the age of 18, you must submit an affidavit proving that you have completed all 50 hours of supervised driving before you may get a motorcycle endorsement. 
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Kentucky

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Kentucky

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Kansas: 18 years old, or under 18 years old and hold a valid driver’s license.
You must earn a motorcycle instruction permit or complete a Kentucky Motorcycle Safety Education (MSE) safety course or pass a road skills exam.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Kentucky

To get a motorcycle permit in Kentucky, go to your local Circuit Court Clerk's office to:
- Pass a vision test as well as a written knowledge exam that covers material in the Kentucky Motorcycle Manual.
- Provide proof of your Kentucky residency, full legal name, date of birth, and social security number. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Pay the $12 permit fee.
 
Your motorcycle permit will be valid of one year and may be renewed once. You are also required to hold your permit for at least one month before you can apply for a motorcycle license.
 

Get a Motorcycle License in Kentucky

Contact your Kentucky State Police office (KSP) driver testing branch to take your motorcycle road skill test, then:
- Provide a certificate of completion for a motorcycle education course, if applicable.
- Written proof you’ve passed a motorcycle road skills test administered by the KSP, if applicable. (If you completed a motorcycle education course, you are exempt from taking this test.)
- Provide proof of your Kentucky residency, full legal name, date of birth, and social security number. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Pay the $24 Kentucky motorcycle license fee.
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Louisiana

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Louisiana

To get a motorcycle license in Louisiana, you must already have a standard driver’s license. You will simply add a motorcycle endorsement to it in order to operate a motorcycle.
 

Get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Louisiana

Go to your nearest local OMV Office in Louisiana and:
- Submit a completed License Application.
- Provide proof of identification such as a Louisiana photo ID, or one of these acceptable forms of identification.
- Pass a motorcycle knowledge test and an on-cycle exam.
- If you are under 17 years old, you must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
- Pay the $12 endorsement fee.
- You must pass an on-cycle skills exam unless you have completed a Motorcycle Safety Course (in which the on-cycle skill exam will be waived). For this you will need to schedule an appointment and bring:
- Your own motorcycle.
- An approved helmet.
- Eye protection such as goggles or safety glasses unless your motorcycle has a windshield.
After this, you will be granted a motorcycle endorsement which will go on your new license. It should be renewed whenever your standard license expires.  As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Maine

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Maine

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Maine: 16 years old.
If you are under 18 years old, you must pass a basic driver’s education course before completing a basic motorcycle rider course. If you are over 18 years old, you must complete a basic motorcycle rider course that includes 15 hours of instruction. At the end of your basic rider course, you will be eligible to take a written exam to earn a motorcycle permit and, eventually, license.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Maine

After you complete your basic motorcycle rider course and pass the exam, go to the closest BMV office and:
- Provide proof you completed the rider course.
- Provide proof of your identity (two documents), Maine residency, and U.S. citizenship. If you are under the age of 23, you must provide your birth certificate. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Pass a vision test and a BMV written knowledge exam.
- Pay $10 permit and exam fee.
 
This permit is valid for two years and comes with certain restrictions on safety gear and passengers. Bring your permit when you take your road test before applying for a motorcycle license.
 

Get a Motorcycle License in Maine

You must first pass a written and skills tests in your basic rider course. After that, go to the closest BMV office and:
- Submit certificate of completion for your rider course as well as proof of the skills exam testing.
- Submit a completed Motorcycle or Moped Application. If you are under 18 years old, this must be signed by your parent or guardian.
- Provide proof of your identity (two documents), Maine residency, and U.S. citizenship. If you are under the age of 23, you must provide your birth certificate. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Pay the $35 fee.
 
Please note that cost of the basic rider training class may vary by state, but the average is $325. For more in-depth information on exams, applications, and course providers, click hereAs always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Maryland

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Maryland

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Maryland: 16 years and six months.
Minimum age to get a motorcycle permit in Maryland: 15 years and nine months.
If you are under the age of 18, you must complete a motorcycle safety course.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Maryland

If you choose to take a motorcycle safety course, you can skip getting a motorcycle permit and simply apply for your motorcycle license. If you have not taken a motorcycle safety course, then:
- Go to your closest full service Motor Vehicle Administration office.
- Bring your Maryland driver’s license.
- If you are under 18 years old or do not have a standard driver’s license, then you must bring your motorcycle safety course completion certificate.
- Pass a vision test, road sign test, and written motorcycle exam.
- Bring proof of your Maryland residency and identification.
- Payment for the permit fee, if applicable. It is recommended that you call ahead and see if there are any fees that apply to you.
After this, you will get your motorcycle permit that comes with certain restrictions on supervision and riding times.
 

Get a Motorcycle License in Maryland

Once you have practiced with your motorcycle permit, you just have to pass a road test to get your motorcycle license. You can take this road test either through the Maryland MVA or with a motorcycle safety course (which is required for those under 18 years old). If you choose to take the test through the MVA office:
- Schedule an appointment with your nearest MVA office.
- Bring your Maryland driver’s license.
- Pay the motorcycle license fee.
 
If you have taken the motorcycle safety course instead, then:
- Go to your closest MVA office.
- Bring proof of your course completion.
- Prove your age, identity, lawful status, social security number, and Maryland residency. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Pay the licensing fee.
 
After this, you will be sent your new motorcycle license in Maryland within seven business days. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 

 

Massachusetts

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Massachusetts

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Massachusetts: 18 years old.
Minimum age to get a motorcycle permit in Massachusetts: 16 years old.
Age to get a Junior Operator License in Massachusetts: between 16 ½ and 18 years old.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Massachusetts

You need to get a motorcycle permit in Massachusetts before you can apply for a motorcycle license, regardless of age. If you are under the age of 18, then you must also complete a Massachusetts Rider Education Program.
 
If you already have a Class D license, then to get a permit you need to be over the age of 16 and:
- Complete an application (Form T21042). If you are under the age of 18, then this must be signed by your parent or guardian who must also provide documentation of authority.
- Pass a vision and written knowledge test. You can prepare for the written knowledge test with the RMV Motorcycle Manual.
- Present valid identification that includes separate documents that prove your date of birth and signature, proof of Massachusetts residency, proof of your social security number (photocopies will not be accepted).
- Pay the $30 fee.
 
If you do not have a Class D license, then you must bass a Class D knowledge test along with the motorcycle knowledge test. Your issued permit will be good for two years and comes along with certain restrictions on hours of operation, passengers, and safety gear. To get your motorcycle license, you need to pass an official road test before your permit expires.
 

Get a Motorcycle License in Massachusetts (Class M)

To get a motorcycle license in Massachusetts, you must be over 18. If you are under 18, but over the age of 16 ½, you must first get a Junior Operator License before you can get your official motorcycle license. If you are under the age of 18, then:
- Complete a Massachusetts Rider Education Program Basic Rider Course. For a full list of schools who provide an approved course, click here.
- Make sure you meet all requirements for a Junior Operator License (held a learner’s permit for at least 6 months before your road test, and maintained a clean driving record for at least 6 months before your road test).
- Completed 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent or guardian providing certified statement of hours.
 
Once you meet the above requirements, go to your closest RMV office and:
- Provide proof of identification (photocopies are not allowed), date of birth, Massachusetts residency, and social security number.
- Have your parent or guardian sign your license application.
- Pay the $50 fee.
- Pass a road test or submit your certificate of completion from the Basic Rider Course. Please note that you must call the RMV Telephone Center to schedule your road test. The RMV absolutely will not accept in-person requests for road tests.
 
After this, you will receive your Junior Operator License. This license comes with certain restrictions on hours of operation, passengers, and mobile phones.
 
If you are over 18 years old and already have a valid motorcycle permit, then you can apply for a motorcycle license in Massachusetts with no restrictions. To do this, go to your area RMV office and:
- Provide identification and documents that prove your date of birth and signature, residency, and social security number. Photocopies are not allowed.
- Pay the $50 fee.
- Pass a road test or provide a certificate of completion for a Motorcycle Rider Education Program Motorcycle Safety Course. If you choose to complete an Rider Education Program Course, you will have the option to waive the RMV road test and applicable fees.
 
To schedule a road test, call the RMV Telephone Center. The RMV does not accept in-person requests to take a road test. At your road test, you must:
- Bring your own motorcycle that is insured and registered, has the proper equipment, and an inspection sticker.
- Bring your own helmet and eye protection (eye protection is not needed if your motorcycle has a windshield or screen)
- Your valid Class M permit.
 

Apply for a Motorcycle Endorsement in Massachusetts (Class M)

If you already have a valid Massachusetts driver’s license, then you are able to add a Class M Endorsement to it. To do that you must already hold a motorcycle permit and :
- Pass the road test or present a certificate of completion for the Motorcycle Rider Education Program.  If you choose to complete an Rider Education Program Course, you will have the option to waive the RMV road test and applicable fees. (To schedule a road test, call the RMV Telephone Center. The RMV does not accept in-person requests to take a road test.)
- You must give up your motorcycle permit and standard driver’s license to get a new license with your Class M endorsement.
- Pay a $15 endorsement fee.
 
For information on renewing your license, click hereAs always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Michigan

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Michigan

Minimum age to get a Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP): 16 years old.
Minimum age to get a motorcycle endorsement in Michigan: 16 or 17 years old (as long as you hold a TIP).
If you are younger than 18 years old and wish to get a TIP, you must take a motorcycle safety training course before applying for your TIP or endorsement.
 

Get a Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) in Michigan

A TIP will let you practice riding a motorcycle on public roadways which is required before you can get a motorcycle endorsement in Michigan. To get your TIP, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- If you are under the age of 18, you need to complete a motorcycle safety training course in order to get a TIP. If this is applicable to you, then you must also provide proof of enrollment in such a course, or a completion certificate from an approved motorcycle safety course.
- Hold a valid, standard driver’s license in Michigan.
- If you are under 18 years old, you need to have a Level 2 or 3 Graduated Driver’s License. Read more here.
- Pass a vision test and a written motorcycle exam.
- Pay the $13.50 fee.
 
Your TIP will remain valid for 180 days. It may be renewed, but you will need to repeat these steps to do so.
 

Get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Michigan

There are different requirements to get a motorcycle endorsement in Michigan, it depends on the age of the rider.
If you are under 18 years old and want to get a motorcycle endorsement:
- You must hold a Level 2 or 3 Graduated Driver’s License. Read more here.
- Make an appointment at your local Secretary of State office.
- Provide a completion certificate from an approved motorcycle safety course.
- Pay the $13.50 endorsement fee.
- Pass the written exam. (The on-cycle exam will be waived since you have completed a motorcycle safety course.)
 
If you are over 18 years old and want to get a motorcycle endorsement:
- You must have a valid driver’s license in Michigan in order to add an endorsement.
- Make an appointment at your local Secretary of State office.
- Pass the written test.
- Pass an on-cycle skills exam given by a third-party testing organization that is approved, or provide a certificate of completion from a motorcycle safety course (which will waive the on-cycle skills exam).
- To take your skills test, you need to bring a registered motorcycle and an approved helmet.
After that, you will receive a new standard license with a Class M endorsement. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Minnesota

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Minnesota

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Minnesota: 16 years old.
You must first have a valid Minnesota driver’s license before you can get a motorcycle permit and apply for a motorcycle license. If you are under the age of 18, you must complete a basic rider course before applying for your permit and license. 
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Minnesota

To get a motorcycle permit in Minnesota, go to your closest Minnesota DVS office to:
- Show your standard Minnesota driver’s license.
- Provide a certificate of completion for a basic rider course if applicable (mandatory if you are under the age of 18).
- Take a motorcycle knowledge exam.
- Pay $21 for the permit fee.
 
After this, you will be issued a motorcycle permit with allows you to practice riding on a motorcycle. However, the permit comes with certain restrictions on passengers, gear, interstate driving, and riding times. Your permit will be valid for one year, and if it expires before you are able to get your proper license, you must repeat the permit process and repay the fee.
 

Get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Minnesota

Schedule a road test with your closest DVS exam station and:
- Bring your standard Minnesota driver’s license
- Bring your valid motorcycle permit
- Provide a certificate of completion for a basic rider course if applicable (mandatory if you are under the age of 18).
- Provide an insured and registered motorcycle as well as a DOT-approved helmet and eye protection.
 
If you are over 18, you may waive this portion of the exam by completing an approved basic rider course. Remember, those under the age of 18 MUST complete a basic rider course before applying for a motorcycle permit and endorsement.
 
You need to apply for a duplicate license before you are able to get a motorcycle endorsement on your current license. This requires paying the fees for both the duplicate license and the endorsement.
 
Motorcycle fees for licenses, classes, and permits:
Motorcycle instruction permit: $21.
Motorcycle endorsement: $21.
Duplicate driver's license: $14.75.
Basic rider course: $180.

As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Mississippi

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Mississippi

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Mississippi: 17 years old.
You must first have a standard Mississippi driver’s license before you can apply for a motorcycle permit and endorsement.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Mississippi

Go to your closest Mississippi DPS office that offers testing to take a written motorcycle knowledge exam. To do this, don’t forget to:
- Bring your Mississippi standard driver’s license or proof you applied for a standard driver’s license.
- Pay the knowledge exam fees and take the test.
- Pay the $1 permit fee.
 
After this, you have the option to immediately take a motorcycle road test or get your permit to practice with. So, it’s up to you whether you choose not to get your permit and go directly to the motorcycle road test, or if you want time to practice with your permit before taking the road test.
 

Get a Motorcycle Endorsement  in Mississippi

To get a motorcycle endorsement on your regular driver’s license, you need to take an on-cycle road skills test. You can prepare for the road test with the Mississippi Motorcycle operator’s manual, and you have the option to take the road test at the same time you take the knowledge test, or at a separate appointment. To take the road test, schedule an appointment with a nearby DPS office and:
- Bring your Mississippi standard driver’s license or proof you applied for a standard driver’s license.
- Payment for the endorsement fee.
 
After that, you will be issued a motorcycle endorsement in Mississippi. Congrats! As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Missouri

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Missouri

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Missouri: 15 ½ years old.
There are different requirements and restrictions to get a motorcycle permit, depending on your age. If you are younger than 16 years old, you need to complete a Motorcycle Rider Training Course before you are able to get your permit, and ultimately, your motorcycle license.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Missouri: Under the Age of 16

Make an appointment at your local Department of Revenue office.  Bring your parent or legal guardian with you in order to sign a permission statement. Then:
- Provide proof of your name, date and place of birth, social security number, residence, and identification. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Provide a certificate of completion for an approved motorcycle safety course.
- Pass the Class M and Class F written tests.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a road sign exam.
- Pay the $6.25 permit fee.
 
Permits come with certain restrictions, and minors need to hold their permit for 182 days and maintain a clear traffic record before they are able to apply for a license or endorsement.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Missouri: Over the Age of 16

Make an appointment with your closest (DOR) Department of Revenue office and:
- Provide proof of your name, date and place of birth, social security number, residence, and identification. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Provide a certificate of completion for an approved motorcycle safety course.
- Pass the Class M written test. (If you don’t already hold a Class F license, then you will need to pass a Class F exam in addition to the Class M test.)
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a road sign exam.
- Pay the $3.50 permit fee.
 

Get a Motorcycle License or Endorsement in Missouri

You must be at least 18 years old to get a motorcycle license or Class M endorsement. To do this, make an appointment with your closest (DOR) Department of Revenue office and:
- Pass the Class M and Class F written exams, and the on-cycle skills test. If you provide a certificate of completion for an approved motorcycle safety course, you can waive the on-cycle portion of the exam. For a list of course locations in Missouri, click here.)
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a road sign exam.
- Provide proof of your name, date and place of birth, social security number, residence, and identification. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
- Pay the applicable fee depending on the length of your license
- $10 for a 3-Year Class M license
- $20 for a 6-Year Class M license
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 
 

Montana

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Montana

Minimum age to get a motorcycle: 16 years old, or 15 years old if you pass a DOJ-approved education course for drivers.
You need to have a Montana standard driver’s license before you can get a motorcycle permit and, ultimately, a motorcycle license.
 

Get a Motorcycle Permit in Montana

Make an appointment at your closest Montana MVD office and:
- Provide your standard Montana driver’s license.
- Pass a vision and written knowledge test.
- Pay a fee that is based on your age and how many years your license is valid. Here is a fee chart for more information.
 
After this, you will be issued a motorcycle permit that will be valid for one year and comes with certain restrictions on supervision. You will need to get your motorcycle license in Montana before your permit expires or you will have to repeat the process.
 

Get a Motorcycle License Endorsement in Montana 

You have two options before you get your motorcycle license, either you can bypass the on-cycle skills exam by taking an approved Motorcycle Education Course, or you can Schedule an appointment with the closest Motor Vehicle Division office and:
- Bring proof of identification and residency.
- Bring your valid motorcycle permit.
- Bring an eligible motorcycle that is inspected and registered for your on-cycle test. For a list of all requirements, click here.
- Provide safety equipment and gear for your on-cycle test.
 
After the test, you will be eligible for a motorcycle endorsement, your MVD office will provide more details on your next steps.
 
Again, you can waive the on-cycle skills test by taking a state approved motorcycle education course. If you take the course instead of the skills test, bring proof of your completion to your MVD and, after you pay the required fees, you will be given your motorcycle endorsement. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 
 
 

Nebraska

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Nebraska

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Nebraska: 17 years old.
Depending on your age and whether or not you already hold a standard license, the process to get a motorcycle license in Nebraska varies. If you take a motorcycle education course, the process can bypass most of the DMV requirements and make it simpler.
 

Get a Motorcycle License in Nebraska

If you choose not to take a motorcycle education course and would rather get a motorcycle license at your area DMV, then:
- Bring proof of your identity and two documents that prove your Nebraska residency. For a list of acceptable identification documents, click here.
- Provide a completed Permit and State ID Card Form.
- Pay the fee.
- Pass a vision exam.
 
If this is your first Nebraska license and you do not hold a standard driver’s license, then you will have to complete these steps in addition to:
- Passing a written test. (This could be waived if you currently hold a valid learner’s permit, or if it expired less than one year ago.)
- Take an on-cycle motorcycle test at one of the approved locations.
 
It’s important to note that you should ask your local DMV about requirements for testing fees and time periods, as these may differ depending on how old you are and how long you will need your license.
 
If you would like more information on motorcycle education courses in Nebraska, here is a list of available classes. If you have any other questions, contact your local DMV.
 
 
 
 

Nevada

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Nevada

Minimum age to get a motorcycle permit in Nevada: 15 ½ years old.
Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Nevada: 16 years old.
To get a motorcycle license in Nevada, you can get a motorcycle permit or pass the required tests either through the DMV or by taking a motorcycle education course.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Nevada

The first step to get a motorcycle permit in Nevada is to go to your local DMV office to take a written exam, or you can take the test through a state-approved driving school after taking a motorcycle education course.
 
If you choose to go to your closest full-service DMV to take the test, then:
- Bring proof of your name, age, and social security number. For a full list of accepted documents, click here.
- Complete an application. If you are under 18 years old, you will need to have your parent or guardian present.
- Take a vision test.
- Pass a written motorcycle exam.
- Pay the required fees:
$26 testing fee
$23.25 permit fee
 
Once you pass the exam, your permit will be good for one year. The permit allows you to practice on the road, but comes with certain restrictions on supervision, driving time of day, and area.

 

Get a motorcycle license in Nevada

Schedule an appointment with the DMV, be sure to ask if the motorcycle skills test is available at that location.
- Pass the on-cycle motorcycle skills test.
- Submit proof of your name, age, and social security number. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
Provide a completed application. If you are under 18, you must have your parent or guardian present.
- Turn in your motorcycle permit.
- Provide the certificate of completion for a motorcycle safety course, if applicable.
- Take a vision test.
- Pay the applicable fees.
 
After that, you will be issued your motorcycle license in Nevada. If you have any questions or would like additional information, contact your local DMV.
 
 
 
 

New Hampshire

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in New Hampshire

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license: 16 years old.
You must first get a motorcycle permit before you can get a motorcycle license in New Hampshire. There are additional requirements for those under the age of 18 who want to get a motorcycle license, including taking a motorcycle safety course.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in New Hampshire

You must take a written exam to get your motorcycle permit. You can take this at your local DMV office or through a basic riders course when you take a motorcycle education class.
Before you visit your DMV to take the written exam, applicants under the age of 18 must:
Have a valid New Hampshire driver’s license.
Pass a driver’s education course.
 
If you are over the age of 18, you can go to the DMV to take your written exam straightaway. When you visit your DMV to take the written exam, you must:
Bring your current New Hampshire driver’s license, it must be valid.
Provide a completed application.
Take a vision test.
Pass a written motorcycle knowledge test.
Pay the $30 permit fee.
 
After this, you will be given your motorcycle permit. It will be valid for 45 days and comes with restrictions on driving times and passengers.
 

Get a motorcycle license in New Hampshire

After you get your motorcycle permit, you just need to pass a motorcycle skills test to get your license. To do this:
Schedule an appointment to take the exam at the DMV by calling (603) 227-4020
Through a basic rider motorcycle safety education course. This is required for all riders under the age of 18.
 
If you choose to go to your area DMV to apply for a motorcycle license, then:
Bring your current New Hampshire driver’s license.
A completed application.
Proof you passed your skills test, including the DMV skills test results or a completion certificate from a motorcycle course. A safety course certificate is good within one year of course completion.
Pay the $30 fee. The fee may be waived if you take a motorcycle education course.
 
If you have any questions or would like additional information, contact your area DMV.
 
 
 
 

New Jersey

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in New Jersey

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in New Jersey: 17
You’ll need to be 17 years old to get a motorcycle permit in New Jersey. After that, you can get a motorcycle license or permit.
 

How to get a motorcycle permit in New Jersey 

Go to your local MVC (Motor Vehicle Commission) office and:
Submit an application for a permit. They will supply these at the office.
Provide proof of your identity and residency in the state of New Jersey. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
Take a vision test.
Pass a written motorcycle knowledge test which covers material found in the New Jersey Motorcycle Manual.
Pay the fee of $5.
 
After this, you will be issued your motorcycle permit that allows you to practice riding. There are certain restrictions in place for permit holders regarding riding times, passengers, and highways. If you are under 21 years old, you must hold your permit for 6 months before applying for a license. If you are over 21 years old, you must hold it for 3 months. If you simply want to apply for a motorcycle endorsement, you only need to have your permit for at least 20 days.
 

How to get a motorcycle license in New Jersey 

If you are younger than 18 years old, you must complete a motorcycle education course before you can apply for a motorcycle endorsement or license. If you are over 18 years old, the course is not required, although it is encouraged. Here’s what you need to do to get a motorcycle license:
Schedule an appointment with the MVC road testing facility by calling (609) 292-6500.
Bring your own insured and registered motorcycle to your scheduled test.
Pass the motorcycle road skills exam.
 
After you pass the skills exam, go to your local MVC office and:
Provide a valid motorcycle permit.
Certificate of completion from a motorcycle safety course (if applicable).
Provide proof of your identity and residency in the state of New Jersey. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the $24 license fee.
 
After that, you will be given a probationary motorcycle license which will let you ride without supervision for one year, although there are still restrictions placed that you will need to abide. After one year, you will receive your unrestricted license which will be good for four years.
 

How to get a motorcycle endorsement in New Jersey 

If you did not take a motorcycle education course and want to get a motorcycle endorsement instead of a license, you must first get a motorcycle permit and practice with it. After some time practicing:
Schedule an appointment with the MVC road testing facility by calling (609) 292-6500.
Bring your own insured and registered motorcycle to your scheduled test.
Provide proof of your identity and residency in the state of New Jersey. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the $18 license fee.
 
As always, it's recommended to contact your area MVC office for additional information and to answer questions. 
 
 
 
 

New Mexico

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in New Mexico

To qualify for a motorcycle license minimum age requirements: 13 years old to apply for a Class M license with a Z or Y endorsement.
15 years old to apply for a Class M license with a Z, Y, or W endorsement, or have these endorsements added to a standard license.
Complete a motorcycle safety course (optional for riders over the age of 18).
 
There are different categories of motorcycle endorsements in New Mexico.
Class M License: a standard motorcycle license in New Mexico in which you can receive a letter endorsement.  
W Endorsement: For displacement of 100cc or more, and for motorcycles and vehicles that have two or three wheels.
Y Endorsement: For displacement between 50cc and 100cc, and for motorcycles and vehicles that have two or three wheels.
Z Endorsement: For displacement less than 50cc, for motorcycles and vehicles with two or three wheels.  
 

Get a Motorcycle License in New Mexico

Once you meet the eligibility requirements to get a license or endorsement, you need to go to your closest New Mexico MVD office and:
Certificate of completion from a motorcycle safety course (if applicable).
Proof you have passed the written and on-cycle exams. (Note, the MVD will not accept highlighted documents.)
Proof of your social security number, residency in New Mexico, and identity. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Payment for the licensing fees. Contact your local branch of the MVD for details on fees.

If you have any questions or would like additional information on how to get a motorcycle license in New Mexico, contact your MVD office.
 
 
 
 

New York

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in New York 

Minimum age to get a limited, junior license (Class MJ): 16 years old.
Minimum age to get a standard motorcycle license (Class M): 17 years old with driver's education.
You need to get a motorcycle learner permit and pass a DMV on-road skills test before you can be issued a motorcycle license in New York.
 

How to get a motorcycle permit in New York

Go to your area DMV office and:
Provide your class D permit or standard driver’s license (if applicable).
Pass a written knowledge exam that is based on the New York motorcycle manual.
Provide a completed application.
Provide proof of your date of birth and identity. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the permit fees.
 
After this, you will be issued a learner’s permit in the state of New York, and it will come with certain restrictions on passengers, supervision, and riding areas.
 

Get a motorcycle license in New York

If you DON’T already have a standard New York driver’s license of any kind, then here is what you need to do:
Pass a DMV approved pre-license course and get a learner’s permit at your nearest New York DMV.
Schedule a road test appointment at your DMV. There, you will need to:
Provide a completion certificate of a pre-license class and motorcycle learners permit.
A completed license application.
Provide proof of your date of birth and identity. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
Your Class MJ or Class M learner’s permit.
Payment for the licensing fees.
 
After you pass the road test, you will receive your official license in the mail in about two weeks. It is valid for 8 years.
 
If you DO already hold a standard New York driver’s license, then:
Go to your area DMV office branch and provide a certificate of completion for a motorcycle safety course, or your temporary license you got after you passed the road test.
Provide proof of your age and identity. For a list of acceptable documents, click here.
A completed license application.
Your Class MJ or Class M learner’s permit.
Payment for the licensing fees.
 
For details on fees, more information, or if you have any questions contact your local DMV.
 
 
 
 

North Carolina

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in North Carolina

Minimum age to apply for a motorcycle endorsement: 16 years old.
Before you can apply for a motorcycle endorsement in North Carolina, you need to already have either a full provisional license in the state of North Carolina, a standard North Carolina driver’s licenses, or a North Carolina commercial driver’s license. You must also pass a written knowledge test and an on-cycle skills test.
 
There are additional requirements of applicants between the age of 16 and 18 years old: you must earn a motorcycle permit, and complete a motorcycle education course through the North Carolina Motorcycle Safety Education Program or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in North Carolina

If you’re eligible to apply for a motorcycle permit in North Carolina, then go to your closest DMV office and:
Provide proof of your name, date of birth, residency in North Carolina, legal presence in the U.S., and social security number. 
Pass a written knowledge test.
Take a vision screening.
Pay the $20 permit fee.
 
After this, you will receive your learner’s permit which will be valid for 12 months and comes with certain restrictions, including on passengers.
 

Get a motorcycle endorsement in North Carolina

If you’re eligible to apply for a motorcycle permit in North Carolina, then go to your closest DMV office and:
If you are under the age of 18, provide a certificate of completion from a motorcycle safety course.
Provide proof of your name, date of birth, residency in North Carolina, legal presence in the U.S., and social security number.
If you did not have to get a motorcycle permit, then you must pass written knowledge exams.
Pass an on-cycle motorcycle skills exam.
Pay the endorsement fee: $2.30 for each year the endorsement is valid.
 
If you have any questions or need more information, contact the North Carolina DMV.
 
 
 
 
 

North Dakota

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in North Dakota

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in North Dakota: 14 years old.
To get a motorcycle license in North Dakota, you must earn a permit first by passing a written knowledge test and practice riding. If you are under 15 years old, you are required to complete a motorcycle education course. If you are over 15 years old and complete the course, you will be able to waive the on-cycle portion of your license exam.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in North Dakota

Go to your local DOT (Department of Transportation) office and provide:
Proof of your identity, social security number, and residency in North Dakota. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
If you are under 16 years old, you must provide a certificate of enrollment or completion of a motorcycle education course.
Pass a vision screening and written knowledge tests.
Pay the permit and exam fees.
 
After that you will have your motorcycle permit in North Dakota. The permit comes with certain restrictions on riding times, areas, passengers, and safety gear.   
 

Get a motorcycle license in North Dakota

After you have practiced on the road with your motorcycle permit, you can apply for a motorcycle license in North Dakota. To do that:
 
Schedule a motorcycle road test with the Department of Transportation either online or by calling (855) 633-6835. If you completed a motorcycle safety course, you can waive the portion of the on-cycle road test.
 
To apply for your license, visit your local driver’s license office and:
Provide a certificate of completion of a motorcycle safety course, or written proof you have completed the on-cycle road test with the Department of Transportation.
Proof of your identity, social security number, and residency in North Dakota. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the $15 licensing fee.
 
For more information on the motorcycle safety courses, click here. If you would like more information, contact your closest DOT office.  
 
 
 
 

Ohio

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Ohio

In Ohio, there are many different types of motorcycle licenses you can get, and each of them come with different requirements.
 

How to apply for an Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit (TIPIC)

Minimum age: 15 ½ years old.
Make an appointment at your local exam station to take a motorcycle knowledge exam and a vision screening. You can prepare for the knowledge exam by studying the Ohio Digest Motor Vehicles Laws and the Motorcycle Operations Manual.
After you complete these tests, you will have 60 days to turn in a receipt of completion to a deputy registrar agency and get a waiver for a skills test. If you are under the age of 18, you need to bring a parent or guardian to the registrar agency.
Provide two forms of proof of identity, date of birth, and social security number.
Pay a $22 fee.
 
After that, you will get your TIPIC that is valid for one year. This comes with certain restrictions on protective gear, highways, passengers, and riding hours.
 

How to apply for a motorcycle-only license in Ohio (under 18 years old)

These are the requirements for applicants under the age of 18. There are different requirements for those older than 18.
If you are under 16, but at least 15 ½ years old, then you are required to have held your TIPIC for at least six months before you can get a motorcycle-only license. If you have had your permit for more than 6 months, then:
Complete an education course for drivers. For information, click here.
Complete a Fifty Hour Affidavit form and license application. If you are younger than 18, you need to bring your parents or guardian to co-sign your license application. They must also provide acceptable forms of identification.
Present your valid TIPIC and supply a street-legal motorcycle in which to take the on-cycle portion of the exam.
Once you pass the exam, go to the deputy registrar office and provide proof of your social security number. After that, you will surrender your TIPIC and pay the license fees (which are determined by age).
 

Apply for a motorcycle-only license in Ohio (over 18 years old)

Present your valid TIPIC and supply a street-legal motorcycle in which to take the on-cycle portion of the exam.
Once you pass the exam, go to the deputy registrar office and provide proof of your social security number. After that, you will surrender your TIPIC and pay the license fees (which are determined by age).
 

Apply for a motorcycle-only license in Ohio and take a Basic Rider’s Course

If you are over 18 and take a basic rider’s course, you can waive a portion of the process to get a license.
Bring a course completion card to the deputy registrar’s office within 60 days.
Pay your fee and you are done!
 

Apply for a motorcycle endorsement in Ohio

If you have a valid, standard Ohio driver’s license, you can apply for a motorcycle endorsement.
Go to your local exam station and complete a knowledge exam and vision screening.
Present your valid TIPIC and supply a street-legal motorcycle in which to take the on-cycle portion of the exam.
 
Once you pass the exam, go to the deputy registrar office and provide proof of your social security number. After that, you will surrender your TIPIC and driver’s license, and pay the license fees (which are determined by age) and you will be issued a new driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement on it.
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions. 
 
 
 
  

Oklahoma

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Oklahoma

Oklahoma has a few different types of motorcycle credentials. A motorcycle endorsement in Oklahoma is added to your existing license if it is Class A, B, C, or D. This allows you to operate a motorcycle in addition to your standard automobile driver’s license. A motorcycle-only license is just that, it allows you to only operate motorcycles.
Minimum age for a motorcycle endorsement in Oklahoma: 16 years old.
Minimum age for a motorcycle-only license in Oklahoma: 14 years old.
To be eligible to operate a motorcycle, you must meet certain requirements such as getting a learners permit, passing tests, and taking a motorcycle education course if you are under the age of 18.
 

How to get a motorcycle permit in Oklahoma

To get a motorcycle permit in Oklahoma, you must be at least 14 years of age and visit an Oklahoma DPS driver exam station to:
Pass a vision and written knowledge exam.
Provide proof of your full, legal name, date of birth, U.S. citizenship, and identity. For a full list of accepted documents, click here.
Pay the permit fee of $37.50.
 
After that, you will receive your motorcycle permit in Oklahoma! A motorcycle permit comes with certain restrictions on it, such as driving hours, passengers, safety gear, and supervision. You are required to hold your permit for 30 days before you can apply for your license or endorsement.
 

How to get a motorcycle endorsement or motorcycle-only license in Oklahoma

To get a motorcycle endorsement in Oklahoma, you must be at least 14 years of age and visit an Oklahoma DPS driver license examiner station to:
If you did not take a motorcycle education course, you need to pass an on-cycle road skills test. To schedule your exam, click here. (Note, if you are under the age of 18, you are required to take this course to get a motorcycle license or endorsement in Oklahoma.)
Prove you hold motorcycle liability insurance.
If you did take a motorcycle education course, you just need to present the certificate of completion as you may waive the on-cycle skills test.
If you are under the age of 18, you must have a parent or legal guardian present and provide proof of enrollment in school and reading proficiency.
Provide proof of your full, legal name, date of birth, U.S. citizenship, and identity. For a full list of accepted documents, click here.
Pay the licence or endorsement fee.
Fee for a motorcycle endorsement: $24.
Fee for a motorcycle-only license: $37.50.
 
After that, you will be issued a new driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement or your motorcycle-only license. For a list of motorcycle training schools to take an education course, click here.
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions. 
 
 
 

Oregon

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Oregon

Motorcycle licenses in Oregon come in the form of motorcycle endorsements on your standard driver’s license.
Minimum age to get a motorcycle endorsement in Oregon: 16 years old.
You must also meet other requirements such as having a current, standard driver’s license and taking a motorcycle education course, payment of fees, and earning a motorcycle permit in Oregon.
 

How to get a motorcycle permit in Oregon

You must be at least 16 years old to get a motorcycle permit in Oregon. If you are over 16, then visit your local DMV office and:
Provide your current, valid standard Oregon driver’s license.
Provide proof of your name, identity, date of birth, social security number, and Oregon residency. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pass a written motorcycle knowledge exam that covers the Oregon driver’s handbook.
Pass a vision test.
Pay a $23.50 fee for your motorcycle permit.  
 
After that, you will be issued your motorcycle permit in Oregon. It is valid for one year, and you can now use it to practice on a motorcycle and enroll in the required motorcycle education course before you get your license. Your permit comes with certain restrictions on such things as supervision, riding hours, passengers, and safety gear.
 

How to apply for a motorcycle license in Oregon

First, complete the required motorcycle education course. Then visit your local DMV and:
Provide your certificate of completion from your motorcycle education course.
Provide your motorcycle permit.
Provide your current, valid Oregon driver’s license.
Provide proof of your name, identity, date of birth, social security number, and Oregon residency. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the applicable motorcycle fee:
Fee for a motorcycle endorsement on existing driver license: $87.
Fee for a new driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement: $144.
 
After that, you will get your motorcycle endorsement in Oregon. It will go on your new driver’s license and expire at the same time.
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions. 
 
 
 
 

Pennsylvania

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Pennsylvania 

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Pennsylvania: 16 years old.
You must first earn a motorcycle permit in Pennsylvania and pass a motorcycle road exam before you are eligible to get a motorcycle license. If you are under the age of 18, you must also complete a motorcycle safety course.
 

How to get a motorcycle permit in Pennsylvania 

If you are over the age of 16 and want to get a motorcycle permit in Pennsylvania, then go to your area Pennsylvania DOT office that conducts motorcycle testing to:
Submit a completed permit application. If you are under the age of 18, this application must be signed by your parent or legal guardian.
Provide proof of your social security number, identity, and residency in Pennsylvania. For a full list of accepted documents, click here.
Pass a vision screening.
Pass a written motorcycle knowledge exam that is based on the PennDOT motorcycle manual.
Pay the permit and license fee.
 
After that, you will be issued your motorcycle permit in Pennsylvania. This permit is valid for one year and comes with certain restrictions on riding times, supervision, and passengers.
 

How to apply for a motorcycle license in Pennsylvania 

If you are over the age of 16 and want to get a motorcycle license in Pennsylvania, you must already hold a motorcycle permit. If you are under the age of 18, then you must first complete a motorcycle education course.
 
If you decide not to take a motorcycle safety course, then schedule a motorcycle skills test at your local Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and:
Pass the motorcycle road exam. (If you take a motorcycle safety course, this exam will be waived.)
If you are under the age of 18, you must submit a Parent or Guardian Certification that verifies you completed the required 65 hours of riding practice under supervision. If your parent or guardian is not present at the time of this form submission, the signed form must be notarized.
Present the certificate of completion from your motorcycle safety course, if applicable.
Provide proof of your social security number, identity, and residency in Pennsylvania. For a full list of accepted documents, click here.
Provide your motorcycle permit.
 
After that, you will earn your motorcycle license in Pennsylvania. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions. 
 
 
 
 

Rhode Island

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Rhode Island

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Rhode Island: 16 years old.
Motorcycle licenses in Rhode Island come in the form of motorcycle endorsements on your current, standard driver’s license. If you are between the age of 16 and 18 years old, you must currently hold a provisional driver’s license. If you are over 18 years old, you must hold a standard driver’s license. To be eligible for a motorcycle license in Rhode Island, you must also complete a motorcycle education course and and hold a motorcycle permit before getting your license.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Rhode Island

First, you must enroll in a motorcycle education course. You can do this by clicking here or calling (401) 825-1214. Note that the Rhode Island DMV only accepts completion certificates of a course from the Community College of Rhode Island. Then:
Visit your DMV local office branch.
Provide a valid provisional or standard driver’s license.
Provide a certificate of completion from your motorcycle safety course.
Submit a completed application.
Pay the $26.50 permit fee.
 
After that, you will receive your motorcycle permit. It comes with certain restrictions on highways, supervision, and passengers, and you must hold it for at least 30 days before you apply for your official endorsement.
 

Get a motorcycle endorsement in Rhode Island 

Visit your DMV local office branch and :
Provide your valid motorcycle permit.
Provide your valid driver’s license.
Submit a completed application.
Pay the $26.50 fee for your license.
 
After that, you will be issued your motorcycle license in Rhode Island! It comes in the form of an endorsement on your driver’s license and will expire when your standard license expires.
 
As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions. 
 
 
 

South Carolina

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in South Carolina

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in South Carolina: 15 years old.
To get a motorcycle license in South Carolina, you need to pass an on-cycle motorcycle skills exam or take a motorcycle safety education course. If you are younger than the age of 18, you must complete a driver’s education and driving course. If you do not already hold a driver’s license of another class, you must first get a motorcycle permit before you can get a motorcycle license.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in South Carolina

To get a motorcycle permit, you need to visit a South Carolina DMV office to:
Provide proof of your identity, social security number, South Carolina residency, and legal presence. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
If you are under the age of 18, you must show proof of your parent or legal guardian’s consent.  
Submit a completed permit application.
If you’re under the age of 17, show a certificate of attendance for your driver’s education school.
Provide proof of motorcycle insurance.
Pass a vision test and written knowledge exam.
Pay the $2 fee for the knowledge exam and the $2.50 fee for the permit.
 
After that, you will be issued your motorcycle permit in South Carolina! You must hold this permit for at least 180 days before you can apply for your motorcycle license, and the permit comes with certain restrictions on riding hours and supervision.
 

Get a motorcycle license in South Carolina

Before you can get your license, you must first take and pass an on-cycle road skills test or complete a motorcycle education course. To take the on-cycle road skills test, schedule the exam here and go to your closest DMV testing office. Remember to bring:
Proof of your social security number, identity, residency in South Carolina, and legal presence in the U.S. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Your motorcycle permit.
A motorcycle that is insured and registered.
Proof of  motorcycle insurance and registration.
Proof of your parent or guardian’s consent, if under the age of 18.
If you’re under the age of 17, show a certificate of completion for your driver’s education school.
A completed application for a license
Payment for the $25 licensing fee.
 
After that, you will have your motorcycle license! As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions. 
 
 
 
 

South Dakota

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in South Dakota

There are three different types of motorcycle credentials offered in South Dakota: Motorcycle instruction permit, motorcycle restricted minor’s permit, and motorcycle operator’s license. Any applicant under the age of 18 who wants to get motorcycle credentials must obtain a permit before getting a full operation license.
Minimum age to get an instruction permit: 14 years old.
Minimum age to get a restricted minor’s permit: 14 years old.
Minimum age to get an operator’s license: 16 years old.
 
All applicants must pass written and on-cycle road exams or complete a motorcycle education course, pass a vision screening, and pay the required fees.
 

Get a motorcycle instruction permit in South Dakota

If you want to get a motorcycle instruction permit in South Dakota, go to your closest DPS driver’s licence office with your legal guardian or parent to:
Take a vision test.
Take the written knowledge exams for your standard license (if you do not already have a valid driver’s license) and your motorcycle license.
Present proof of your identity, date of birth, social security number, South Dakota residency, and lawful presence in the U.S. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the applicable fee.
 
After this, you will be given your instruction permit that will be valid of one year. Before you may apply for a motorcycle license, there are restrictions and requirements:
If you do not enroll in any type of driver’s education course, you must hold your permit for 180 days before applying for a motorcycle license.
If you complete an approved driver’s education course, you must hold your permit for 90 days before applying for a motorcycle license.
If you complete a motorcycle safety course and an approved driver’s education course, you only need to you hold your permit for 30 days before applying for a motorcycle license.
 
Instruction permits come with certain restrictions on passengers, supervision, and riding hours.
 

Get a restricted minor’s permit in South Dakota 

Go to your closest DPS driver’s licence office with your legal guardian or parent to:
Take a vision test.
Take the written knowledge exams for your standard license (if you do not already have a valid driver’s license) and your motorcycle license.
Pass the on-cycle motorcycle skills exam.
Present proof of your identity, date of birth, social security number, South Dakota residency, and lawful presence in the U.S. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the applicable fee.
 
After this, you will be given your restricted minor’s permit that will be good for one year. You are able to hold this permit until you turn 18, when you can transfer to a regular motorcycle license. The restricted permit comes with certain restrictions on riding only with parent or guardian permission, and riding hours.
 

Get a motorcycle license in South Dakota

Before you are able to get your motorcycle license, you must have first passed an on-cycle road skills exam or completed a motorcycle safety education course in the past year. It’s important to note, however, you must check with your local licensing office to find which is required for you, as each jurisdiction varies.
 
Call the DPS at (605) 773-6883 for information regarding testing times and locations. Then go to your local driver licensing office to:
Take a vision test.
Provide proof you passed the written and on-cycle road tests, or a certificate of completion for a motorcycle safety course.
Present proof of your identity, date of birth, social security number, South Dakota residency, and lawful presence in the U.S. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the $28 fee.
 

After that, you will have your motorcycle license! As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.  

 Back to Top 
 

 

Tennessee

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Tennessee 

There are two different types of motorcycle credentials in Tennessee that you can apply for:
A motorcycle-secondary license which is added to your existing license, and a motorcycle-only license which is just that, it allows you to only operate motorcycles. 
Minimum age to get a motorcycle permit in Tennessee: 15 years old.
Applicants for a motorcycle license in Tennessee much either complete a motorcycle safety course or pass the written knowledge and skill exams. If you are younger than 18 years old, click here to read the additional restrictions for teen applications.
 

Get a learner's permit in Tennessee

This is for applicants who are 15 years old and want to get a learner’s permit. To do this:
Go to your closest full-service Department of Safety office.
Submit proof of school attendance.
Provide proof of your TN residency, identity, legal presence in the U.S., and social security number. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Present either a certificate of completion for a motorcycle safety course or pass the written knowledge and road skills exams.
Pay the $6.50 permit fee.
 
You will then be issued your learner’s permit which is valid for one year. The permit comes with certain restrictions on passengers, highways, displacement size, riding hours, and distance from home. After you turn 16, you may return to a full-service DOS office and get your permit upgraded to an unrestricted permit without having to take any additional tests.
 
For more information on the motorcycle safety course, click here.
 

Get a motorcycle license in Tennessee

If you’re ready to get your motorcycle license, go to a full-service DOS office and:
Provide proof of your TN residency, identity, legal presence in the U.S., and social security number. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Present either a certificate of completion for a motorcycle safety course or pass the written knowledge and road skills exams.
Pay the applicable license fees, which vary by license type:
Learner permit: $6.50
Motorcycle-only license: $29
Motorcycle-secondary license: $55
 
After that, you will have your motorcycle license! A motorcycle-only license is valid for 8 years, while a motorcycle-secondary license is valid as long as your standard license is. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

Texas

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Texas

Minimum age to be eligible for a motorcycle license: 15 years old.
To be eligible for a license, you must have either taken an in-class driver’s education course for a Class C license or already hold a Class C license or learner’s license. You must also complete an approved motorcycle safety course. Those under the age of 18 are required to complete a written knowledge exam, obtain a learner’s license, and pass a road skills exam.
 

Get a motorcycle license in Texas

Go to your local DPS driver’s license office and:
Provide a certificate of completion for a motorcycle safety course.
Provide either a provisional Class C license, a certificate of completion for a driver’s education course or a Class C learner’s license.
Provide proof of your identity, social security number, legal presence in the U.S., and Texas residency. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pay the required fees.
 
If you are under the age of 18, you must also bring your parent or guardian to the DPS office and present a verification of school enrollment and pass a road skills test.
 
After that, you will have your unrestricted Class M license that will be valid for 6 years for those over 18. For those under the age of 18, the license will have to be renewed when you turn 18.  As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

Utah

 

Overview of motorcycle eligibility in Utah

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Utah: 16 years old.
Motorcycle certification comes in the form of an endorsement on your standard driver’s license. To be eligible to apply for a motorcycle endorsement in Utah, you must already have a standard driver’s license, pass a written exam and skills test to earn a motorcycle permit, fill out a medical questionnaire, and pay the required fees. If you take an approved Utah motorcycle rider course, you do not have to take the skills test.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Utah

Go to your closest Driver License Division office to:
Submit your standard Utah driver’s license.
Two documents that prove your residency. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Submit a completed license application.
Complete a medical questionnaire.
Pass a vision test and a written motorcycle exam. You could be required to pay a fee for the written test. Contact your local DLD for details.
Have a photo taken.
 
After this, you will be given your motorcycle permit which comes with certain restrictions on passengers, riding hours, riding speed. If you are under 19 years old, you must hold your permit for at least two months before you can take the skills test. If you take a motorcycle rider course, you will be exempt from the skills test.
 

Get a motorcycle endorsement in Utah

If you successfully complete a motorcycle rider course, you may skip this next step. If not, then schedule an appointment with the same DLD office where you took your written test and:
Bring your standard driver’s license and your motorcycle permit.
Pass the on-cycle skills test.
Fill out an application for a license or ID card.
Pay the $9.50 endorsement fee.
 
After that, your new license with your endorsement will be sent to you in the mail within eight weeks! As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

Vermont

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Vermont

Minimum age to apply for a motorcycle license in Vermont: 16 years old. Applicants under the age of 17 must have the signature of a parent or guardian before applying.
You must already have a Vermont driver’s license or junior operator license, pass a written exam to earn your motorcycle permit, pass a skills test, and pay the required fees. If you complete a motorcycle education course, you may waive the exams at the DMV as long as you are 16 years old and have a Vermont driver’s license.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Vermont

If you complete a motorcycle education course, you may skip this part. Otherwise, schedule an appointment with your closest DMV office to:
Pass the written motorcycle knowledge exam.
Pay the required $9 exam fee and the $20 permit fee.
 
If you do not pass your knowledge exam on the first try, you must wait at least one day before retaking it. Once you pass, you will be given your motorcycle permit to practice riding as long as you adhere to the restrictions on passengers, riding times, and out-of-state riding. Your permit is valid for 120 days.
 

Get a motorcycle license in Vermont

If you complete a motorcycle education course, you may skip this part. Otherwise, schedule an appointment with your closest DMV office and:
Provide your standard Vermont driver’s license.
Provide your motorcycle permit.
Bring a motorcycle that is in good condition, inspected, and insured.
Bring approved eye protection and a helmet.
Pay the required $19 road test fee.
 
If you do not pass on your first try, you must wait one week before you retake the test. After that, you will receive your motorcycle license! As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

Virginia

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Virginia

Minimum age to apply for a motorcycle license in Virginia: 15 years and 6 months.
If you are under the age of 18, you must complete a driver’s education program. All applicants must pass a motorcycle knowledge test to earn their motorcycle permit, take a motorcycle skills test, and pay the required fee. As long as you are 19 years old, you can waive the testing and permit process by taking a Virginia Rider Training Program.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Virginia

As long as you are 19 years old and you complete a rider training course, you may skip this part. Otherwise, visit your closest DMV office to:
Take a vision screening.
Pass a written motorcycle knowledge test that covers the Virginia Motorcycle Manual and Virginia Driver’s Manual. You are required to take this test if you do not already have a driver’s license or you are applying for a motorcycle-only license.
Pay the required $3 permit fee.
 
After this, you will be issued your motorcycle permit that is valid for one year and comes with certain restrictions on supervision, safety gear, and riding hours. If you are over the age of 18, you are required to hold your permit for 30 days before taking taking the next step for your license. If you are under the age of 18, you are required to hold your permit for 9 months before you may apply for your license.
 

Get a motorcycle license in Virginia

As long as you are 19 years old and you complete a rider training course, you may skip this part. Otherwise, contact your closest DMV customer service center that provides on-cycle testing to schedule a testing time. Then:
Bring your motorcycle permit.
Bring a motorcycle that has valid plates and inspection sticker.
Bring an approved helmet, face shield, and eye protection.
Pay the motorcycle license fee of $6 for each year the license is valid.
 
After that, you will be given your motorcycle license in Virginia! As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

Washington

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Washington

Minimum age to get a motorcycle endorsement in Washington: 16 years old.
A motorcycle license in Washington comes as an endorsement on your current license. Applicants under the age of 18 must pass a motorcycle education course and have the permission of a parent or guardian to get their endorsement. Applicants must pass a motorcycle knowledge and skills exam either through taking a motorcycle safety course or through a training school and pay the required endorsement fees.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Washington

To get a motorcycle permit in Washington, you must first pass a motorcycle knowledge exam at a motorcycle training school. After that, take your score sheet within 180 days to your local DOL office and:
Bring your Washington driver’s license.
Pay the $15 fee for the permit.
 
After that, you will be issued your motorcycle permit that is good for 90 days and comes with restrictions on passengers and riding times.
 

Get a motorcycle license in Washington

To get a motorcycle permit in Washington, you must first pass a motorcycle knowledge exam at a motorcycle training school or a motorcycle safety course. After that, take your score sheet or certificate of completion to your local DOL office within 180 days.
 
To get your license:
Go your area licensing office and submit either your completion certificate from your motorcycle safety course or your score sheet from a motorcycle training school.
Provide your Washington driver’s license.
Provide your motorcycle permit, if applicable.
Pay the motorcycle endorsement fee.
 
After that, you will be given your motorcycle endorsement in Washington! As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

West Virginia

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in West Virginia

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in West Virginia: 16 years old.

If you are under the age of 18, you must also complete all the requirements to get an intermediate driver’s license before you apply for a motorcycle license. All applicants must pass a written knowledge exam to get a motorcycle permit, and pass a motorcycle driving test either with the DMV or through a motorcycle education course.

 

Get a motorcycle permit in West Virginia

Go to your local DMV office and:
Provide proof of your identity and West Virginia residency. For a full list of acceptable documents, click here.
Pass a written motorcycle knowledge exam.
Pay the required fee of $5.
 
After that, you will be given your motorcycle permit that is good for 90 days and comes with restrictions on passengers and riding hours. You must hold your permit for seven days before you are allowed to test for your motorcycle license in West Virginia.
 

Get a motorcycle license in West Virginia

Before you are able to apply for your license, you need to pass an on-cycle skills test. You can take this test either through the DMV or through a motorcycle education course. To take this test at the DMV, call to schedule a testing appointment.
After you pass your skills test, then go to the DMV and bring:
Your standard driver’s license.
Your motorcycle permit.
Proof you completed the motorcycle skills exam either through the DMV or through a motorcycle education course.
Payment for the motorcycle licensing fee.

You have the option to get a motorcycle endorsement on your standard driver’s license or to get a motorcycle-only license which only allows you to operate a motorcycle. After you choose which license you would like, it will be issued to you. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.

 

 Back to Top

 

 

Wisconsin

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Wisconsin

Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Wisconsin: 16 years old.
If you are under the age of 18, you must have a sponsor sign your permit or license, complete a driver’s education course, and provide a certificate of completion or proof of enrollment in a basic motorcycle rider course. All applicants must pass exams for knowledge, road signs, and vision to earn your motorcycle permit. After you earn your permit, you must pass an on-cycle skills test and pay the required fees to get your license.
 
If you complete a Basic Rider Course, you will be exempt from the on-cycle exam portion with the DMV.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Wisconsin

You must be at least 16 years old to apply for a motorcycle permit. If you are under the age of 18, then you must have a sponsor sign your permit or license, complete a driver’s education course, and provide a certificate of completion or proof of enrollment in a basic motorcycle rider course.
To get your motorcycle permit, go to your local DMV office and:
Bring your valid, standard driver’s license.
Pass a written knowledge and road sign exam, and a vision test.
Pay the $32 permit fee.
 
After that, you will be issued your permit to practice riding a motorcycle. Your permit is valid for six months and comes with restrictions on safety gear, riding hours, and supervision.
 

Take the motorcycle skills Test

Please note, if you take pass a Basic Rider Course, you can waive this part of the process. To take your skills test, schedule an appointment with the DMV and bring:
A motorcycle.
An approved helmet and eye protection.
Payment for the $15 fee.
 
After you pass the test, the last step is to get your license!

 

Get your motorcycle license in Wisconsin

Your valid, standard driver’s license.
Your motorcycle permit.
A certificate of completion for a Basic Rider Course or proof that you passed your skills exam.
Payment for the license fee.

After that, you will be issued your motorcycle license! As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 

 Back to Top

 

 

Wyoming

 

Overview of eligibility for a motorcycle license in Wyoming

Minimum age to get a motorcycle permit in Wyoming: 15 years old.
Minimum age to get a motorcycle license in Wyoming: 17 years old.
All applicants must pass a written motorcycle test to earn their permit before they are issued their license. After that, you must pass a skills test to get your full license. If you take a motorcycle education course, you will be exempt from the written and skills test.
 

Get a motorcycle permit in Wyoming

If you are at least 15 years old, then go to your closest Wyoming DOT office and:
Take a written motorcycle test. If you take a motorcycle education course, you will be exempt from this test.
Pass a vision screening.
Pay the permit fee of $10 for a restricted instruction permit for riders under 16 years old,
or $20 for a basic instruction permit for those who are over 16 years old.
 
A restricted instruction permit is valid for 90 days and restricts you from carrying passengers.
 

Take the motorcycle skills exam

If you take a motorcycle education course, you will be exempt from this test. However, if you would rather take the skills exam through the Department of Transportation, then schedule an appointment at an office that provides on-cycle testing. There could be additional fees for this portion of the test.
 

Get your motorcycle endorsement

Go to your local Wyoming Department of Transportation office and bring:
Proof you passed your written and skills test, or a certificate of completion for a motorcycle education course if applicable.
Your motorcycle permit, if applicable.
Payment for the $6 endorsement fee.
 
If this is the first driver’s license you have applied for in Wyoming, then you should also bring proper identification and payment for the $40 license fee.
 
After that, you will be issued your motorcycle endorsement on a new driver’s license. As always, you should follow up with your local driver's license office if you have any questions.
 
 

 Back to Top

sell your motorcycle online harley-davidson

If you're looking for resources on how to sell a motorcycle or if you want to buy a motorcycle of your own, RumbleOn is a great resource! 

Check out the easiest place to sell a motorcycle online, and browse through one of the largest pre-owned motorcycle shops on the web!

Check Out RumbleOn

Leave a comment

Recent Articles

Popular Articles